Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Stryyder

Set 3 Rule Updates - Layman's edition

Recommended Posts

Alright, we got hit by a LOT today in the rules update.  There's a lot of confusion going around on what cards actually still work, what cards were affected and how some of these new effects actually work.  As such, I'm going to bring back my old "What Does It Mean?" series (which I truthfully only did 2 posts of) to try and filter some of the confusion.

So where to start.  We'll start simple and ramp up from there:

Erratas

There were 2 important Errata today, in preparation of set 3 releasing.  These are now added to the previous errata, which changed Divine Aide Vados, Boost Attack Piccolo, Trunks Protector of Children and Dodoria, The Emperor's Assistant to include the new "Super Combo" keyword.  All of these Errata will come into effect on March 9th, the day that set 3 releases.

Mind Controlling Babidi (BT2-022) - In light of the new red 4 drop Trunks card which lets you play a card with power 15000 from your hand, Babidi has been errata'd to read "If you have 6 or more red energy, when you play this card...", to ensure Babidi cannot be played prematurely with such a powerful effect.  Not only that, but since your energy have to be red, it severely limits Babidi's usefulness in multicolor decks, aside from those using SS Vegito leader.

Think's He's the Best Hercule (BT3-044) - in what is the first pre-release errata NOT related to a printing error, Hercule's Auto has been changed from 2 sentences to a single one with a comma.  This was necessary because as Auto's have been clarified in the past (re: Mecha Frieza set 1 and Psych Up Gotenks), Autos that trigger on play generally are resolved "as much as you can" sentence by sentence.  This would have made Hercule very powerful in non-Buu led decks, as the first sentence would do nothing and the second sentence would give them 2 energy with no downside.


Rules Manual

Ok, so the next section is the rules manual.  As always there are several things here that were updated for simple wording fixes, but there are a couple big things to pay attention to.

3-1-7-1 - A quick housekeeping rule based around cards that take control of other cards (Black has a few of these).  If a card would go to an area other than battle or combo, it always goes to its OWNER's area.  This means if you take control of a card it will never go to YOUR hand, discard, warp, remove from game or deck.

6-3-1-2-2-1 - When an Activate Main skill is declared it opens a counter window. This will be discussed below under "New Counter Timings"

9-5 - New ruling regarding cards whose battle power is reduced.  If a card's battle power is reduced to zero or less it is KOed.

10-2-5 - If a leader card is flipped due to awaken, any continuous effects affecting its POWER are retained.  This is one of 2 new rules that eliminates all floating effects on cards that are Flipped, Evolved or otherwise overlayed, except for effects that alter Power.  (Ex. If you draw a life card with SSB Vegeta leader to gain Critical and then awaken, you do NOT retain critical on his Awakened side)

10-10-3 - The counter timings have been updated.  There are now TWO timings when activating abilities that would draw a counter, one when the skill is activated and then another when the skill is resolved.  This will be discussed below under "New Counter Timings".

10-18 - I point this out, because it's going to cause misplays early on.  When a card is played via Xeno-Evolve, unlike standard or EX Evolve, the new card played COUNTS as a new card.  It does not retain position or power bonuses that were affecting the card that it evolves from.  This is because it is not placed on top of the old card, the old card is sent to Warp.  Meaning the Xeno-Evolution comes into play in active mode with no prior effects carried over. (This is confirmed by the Xeno-Evolve section in the Q&A)

Most of the rest is just definitions of the new terms.


Q&A
Yeah, going through the Q&A is time consuming and tedious, luckily they started marking new entries with "NEW" so we know WHAT was added.  I'll try and touch on the major things:

"GAME Q&A - Skills"
Q17-Q22 in this section reiterate updates to the Rules manual discussed above for 10-2-5 and 9-5)

"GAME Q&A - Keywords"
Counter - Q7-Q9 Mostly more questions about the new counter rules, see below under "New Counter Timings".  Q9 outlines the info about using Bad Ring Laser and that you can't start activating more once one the chain starts resolving.

Union Absorb - Q9 - If you place a card on top of a card whose effects have been negated does the negation carry over? No it does not.  As with the new Evolve/Union rules above, ONLY Power modifications carry over. (Ex. You play Goku 1 drop, opponent uses CBL to negate its effects.  Then you play another Goku on top using evolve, the newly evolved card is not Negated, as it has been in the past)

Barrier - Notable because it confirms 2 things: 1) Barrier ONLY applies if the opponent's effect SPECIFICALLY says to "CHOOSE" a card. 2) Even if YOU are the one told to choose a card, if it is your opponent's effect you MAY NOT choose a card with Barrier (i.e. your opponent attacking with Awakened Broly leader).

The majority of the remaining GAME Q&A additions outline and confirm rulings discussed above.

"CARD Q&A - Starter Deck 3"

Bardock - If his power puts 2 non-black cards in the drop, do you get +10000? No.  His power says if you put any non-black cards in the drop you get +5000, but this does not stack if multiple of the 3 cards are non-black.

"CARD Q&A - Set 1 Booster"

Jeice - Confirming that you can draw cards one by one and stop at any time.  You don't have to declare how many you are looking at when it activates.

Cold Bloodlust Q1-8 - This outlines the new counter window structure for cards that are played due to skills.  Read more about that below under "New Counter Timings".

Crusher Ball - Reiterates everything mentioned under Cold Bloodlust.

"CARD Q&A - Set 2 Booster"

Mostly just reiterations of things discussed above.

"CARD Q&A - Set 3 Booster"

I'm not going to go through all this, I'm just going to mention one card that was the subject of scrutiny early on.  If you have specific questions about the new cards just ask.

Dauntless Spirit Vegeta SSB (BT3-060) - Q3 When is this card considered to have "dealt damage'? After Vegeta is the winner, before damage is actually dealt.  So you can discard for his auto to give him crit before damage is actually drawn when he attacks.

"CARD Q&A - Promo"

No big additions with the new cards.  Just generic reminders of normal rulings.

 

Ok, that's about it for erratas and updates, but, as promised several times above, we're going to go through the new Counter timing for cards played via Skills.

NEW COUNTER TIMINGS

Via the new rules and clarifications listed on the site, there are now TWO counter windows when a card is played via a Skill.
As stated, this ONLY applies to cards played via skills.  Examples of these are Evolve, Union, Babidi, new GT Trunks, etc.  If you are simply playing a card from your hand as a Main Step action by paying its normal cost these new guidelines DO NOT APPLY.  As normal with those types of plays you just declare and pay for the card, counter window, then play the card to the field, as it has always been.

Now, the new ruling is that you may activate a Counter: Play effect at 2 separate times when a skill would bring one or more cards into play:
1) When the skill is activated(before it enters play)
2) After the skill resolves (after it enters play)

The main distinguishing feature here is that if your counter negates the card's skills and you activate your counter during the second counter window, the target still gets to use any Auto skills that trigger (When this card is played...).  To illustrate, lets look at the example of Babidi:

Player A declares they are playing Babidi and pays 6 energy
Normal Counter: Play Window for Babidi
Babidi enters play, triggering his Auto ability (Look at the top 7 cards of your deck, choose 2 red cards with cost of 25000 or less and play them)
Counter window 1
Play the cards you chose
Resolve any "When Played" autos on those cards
Counter window 2

So, what happens when you play a counter to negate?  As stated above and in the example, if you play the counter in window 1 it negates all the cards skills, including the "When Played" autos.  But in counter window 2 they get their autos but everything else is negated.

So here are some other common interactions to looks out for:

Crusher Ball - So here is when it gets more important to know the difference.  Playing a Crusher Ball in window 2 will have absolutely NO effect, since the card has already entered play.  Crusher Ball MUST be played in counter window 1, when the skill is activated and before it enters play.

Evolve (standard, EX and Xeno) - These new counter windows largely have no effect on any of the Evolve skills.  You must still declare your intent to evolve, at which time a counter window opens, you play CBL or CB and then the card enters play.  A new timing window opens after Autos are resolved for you to play another Counter Play, but that interaction is mostly useless in this situation.

Union Absorb via Cell - Cell is quite complicated when factoring in the new counter window.  Here are the different interactions with Cell, depending on when you play Cold Bloodlust:

Growing Evil Lifeform Cell (3 drop) - Union Absorb
Counter Window 1 - Played after opponent declares Union and puts an A17 under Cell, if player searches and chooses a Cell it is negated.  However, the opponent may choose not to evolve (choosing 0 since the skill says "Search for up to 1 cell").  In that case, they may then Activate this skill again by putting another A17 under it and the process starts over.
Counter Window 2 - Played after opponent declares Union and puts an A17 under Cell and they have already searched their cell and placed it on top.  Resolve the Cell's new "When played" auto, then play CBL to negate the rest of the card for the turn.

Evolving Evil Lifeform Cell (5 drop) - Union Absorb
Counter Window 1 - Played after opponent declares Union and puts an A18 under Cell, if player searches and chooses a Cell it is negated.  However, the opponent may choose not to evolve (choosing 0 since the skill says "Search for up to 1 cell").  In that case, they may then Activate this skill again by putting another A18 under it and the process starts over.
Counter Window 2 - Played after opponent declares Union and puts an A18 under Cell and they have already searched their cell and placed it on top.  Resolve the Cell's new "When played" auto, then play CBL to negate the rest of the card for the turn.

 

I think this covers just about everything.  Any more specific questions or if you find some mistake I made just let me know and I'll address it.

 

~Stryyder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×